For many firsts in memories – Part 3: Hi there, Warhawks! *waving*

I usually find it hard to write about people using Third Person Pronouns. So, the rest of this post will be words of appreciation dedicated to ULM friends who have crossed my path, in one way or another, in no order of priority 😀

Hi there, you were the first person from ULM that I met in person!

When I just arrived at MLU airport, waiting for the checked bags to come out, you came and confirmed my name. On the way back to campus, in the ULM van, we had a long conversation in which I asked you so many questions, and you replied them in the most friendly, realistic and funny way. You helped me so much with all the procedures, documents, luggages and language barrier. I’m so glad that we met again in UNIV class and I always admire the way you speak and your vibe (and your fashion too 😉 ). Thank you so much for all the advice and small talks whenever we ran into each other on campus.

Hi there, without you two, I would struggle so much on the first few days ❤

Back in March 2016, after I made a decision to come to ULM, I was on the search for fellow international students. And I was so lucky to find you guys who were from the same motherland, who shared similar cultural backgrounds, who spoke the same language and most importantly, who cared to reply all my queries about ULM and the US in general. On my very first day at ULM, there was no usable mode of communication and I could not contact anyone at all. Walking to the library hoping to get some help, I saw two familiar faces that I only vaguely remembered from your FB profile pictures. And yes, you guys were there, walking out from the library, seeing me for the very first time, in person. Thank you so much for everything: kids’ meal at the cafe we went to, outings, homemade food, rides, talks, advice and every other single thing. Although we don’t really bump into each other anymore these days, I still feel a great sense of joy to speak my mother tongue again every time we meet. To you two I send my deepest gratitude.

Hi there, I knew about you before we randomly met hahaha

I met you for the first time in front of the library too. Well, honestly, we were IG friends for a few months and I immediately recognized you the moment we made eye contact. You only realized that later and it was so funny haha. I will always remember how amazing your height and your British-like accent were, on that day in front of the library. And I love your jokes, really! The way you tell stories always fascinates me. I always enjoy your company although we didn’t meet that often when the last semester became busier. And, thank you so much for your help in everything.

Hi there, thank you for your everlasting support and care!

I was lucky enough to know you on the first day I arrived at ULM. You have a very beautiful smile. I am so grateful for having a friend like you, who always spend a lot of time hearing my stories and sharing yours with me, who appreciates every little thing about me and encourages me at every turn, and who I had the chance to exchange ideas and beliefs with, without judgment and fear. It was great to be in the same ESL class with you because we had the chance to update on each other at least twice a week. Thank you for everything. I can’t wait to see you again really soon!

Hi there, thank you for all the loving “scolding” and advice 😀

Whenever we meet, I always feel a sense of respect for you. I always feel like you are one of my family members because of all your advice and loving “scolding”. You have helped me so much. I love your cooking: Superb food with the homie taste that is rarely found somewhere else. Thank you for inviting me to all the road trips, outings, grocery shopping and staying-overs! Thank you for the every little thing we shared together 🙂

Hi there, Big Table peeps! Thanks for always being there at The Big Table =))

I always find it so funny to look for friends at the exact same table in the cafeteria because I believe someone I know will be there, The Big Table. I name the place so because the table is big enough for about 20 people to sit at. At this very unique location, almost everyday, I had the opportunity to meet and talk to so many new friends while eating. Food tastes very much better when having it with you guys. And I love how you guys always take extra chairs, squeeze in around the table and make it bigger LOL. You are some of the most funny, incredible, welcoming and friendly peeps I’ve ever known on campus. Thank you so much for all the great time together. Cheers to another semester at The Big Table 😀

Hi there, thank you for your patience so we could understand each other

As an international student, I understand what it means by “language barrier”. Every time I met you guys, the challenge was always accepted. It was not so easy to understand and exchange ideas at times but I appreciate how we were so patient with each other, how we deliberately used body language and even dictionaries to convey what we meant. Sometimes, talking to each other in different languages was fun haha. The first semester would not be such a great one without all the time we spent eating, talking, drinking Starbucks, studying and going out together. It was hard to say goodbye to some of you guys when the semester ended, but I believe we will meet again someday! Thank you for every moment we had together 😉

Hi there, I didn’t like your first joke at all LOL

Do you know how shocked I was when you asked “Why did you speak like there’s something inside your mouth?” when we first met in the cafeteria? I couldn’t believe someone could randomly say such a thing as the first words of their conversations with others. After a while, I get what you mean, and I enjoy your company, hugs, jokes, advice, fine profanity, and the way you try to speak my mother tongue. You’re one of the coolest, warmest, quirky and caring people I’ve ever known. Kudos do your rapping talent too 😀 Okay now I’m gonna be rude because you always say this to me: “Tam biet, an cut LOL!”

Hi there, partners-in-crime, together we conquered Calculus 1!

Calculus I was the only class that we had in common. I’m so glad to be able to sit next to you in almost every class, right in front of our prof. There must be something in the way we talk because we laugh at each other all the time, all the time you know hahaha. Since I started college, you were the first person I had “conversations on notebooks” during lectures because we couldn’t make noise. With pages after pages full of words flying all over the places, which was followed by hours of long conversations after that, we seemed to fail at stop talking about random things. Thank you so much for all the time and patience because such a friend like you is one in a million. Thanks for the super thick warm jacket and gloves when it was too cold. Thanks for being the first one asking for my signature hahahahaha (don’t tear that page away okay? OMG you made me feel like some famous people =)))) ) Thanks for everything, and don’t feel bad about anything you didn’t know about me because I just hadn’t told you 😉

You are the other partner-in-crime because we committed a few “crimes” last semester. When we talked on the day of registration,  I didn’t expect that we would have so many classes in common on Tues and Thurs. Sometimes I asked myself why I saw you everyday everywhere around campus. It was funny when you asked me about the 8-am-class you skipped without knowing I skipped it too LOL. Thanks for asking how things are going and how to deal with some life challenges 🙂 Thanks for keeping me at outings when friends just randomly met and didn’t know what to do. That horror movie night was fun because everybody was so tense and then the movie ended unexpectedly. Thanks for being a great friend 🙂 We are still partners-in-crime next semester so wait for it man!

Hi there, we will sing together so soon 😀

When I think about you, I remember how we always hug as a way to say “Hello”. Thanks for crossing the road just to say “Hi” every time we ran into each other. Thanks for sharing about your passion and your day. Thanks for inviting me and others to your performances. You are talented and I believe you will be successful on the path that you’ve chosen. Thanks for every little thing you did. I’m always grateful for all the time we shared together regardless of how random it was 😀

Hi there, talking to you always reminds me of Singapore

When I first heard your accent, I actually thought you were Singaporean. It is really fun to have a friend like you because we can talk about Singapore and all the jokes ending with “walao eh” Thanks for catching up with each other every time we met. Thanks for all the rides and outings. Thanks for all the life advice. You are gonna graduate and I bet we wouldn’t see each other after that anytime soon. We must definitely meet whenever you’re back home 😀

Hi there, let’s have strawberry smoothie at International House!

You: the friend that I will forever be grateful for till the end of time. Did we meet for the first time in the International House? I am so sorry for forgetting your name. Since we got close, your name has always appeared on my mind when I feel so eff up with life or when life’s good. The great thing is you love hanging out at Starbucks and International House so we can talk all the time =)) Jokes aside, thanks for all the days and nights exchanging crazy ideas, talking deep, discussing about the hard bitter truths in human lives and being a fellow dreamer and a fool. Thank you for walking to the dorm with me during the first few days when it was too dark. Thank you for accompanying me to the huge Christmas tree on a super cold day just for a failed breath shot. Thank you so so much for being there when I broke down so bad being too caught up in emotions. Thank you for that “No more, Tam!” even it hurt. Thank you! No amount of strawberry smoothie is enough to offer you in return for everything you’ve done 😉

Hi there, I love it when you’re in formal outfits 😀

It was a bit weird when we didn’t talk to each other even though you were always with my friends. Thanks for that random nice day when we initiated some small talks with each other. I never expected that we would be so close like how we are today. Thanks for all the hugs, heart-to-heart talks, sharings, studying sessions and meals together. Thanks for being there during the most joyful time or during the darkest time. Thank you for everything, from the bottom of my heart!

Hi there, thank you for your utmost sincerity 🙂

I have only talked to you twice. Right at the moment I saw you, there was something in your eyes that read “You can trust me” Thank you for always being a great friend with realistic advice. Thank you for being honest and so opened the last time we talked. Thank you for everything you’ve said 🙂

Hi there, thank you for many invaluable firsts because

without knowing you and everything that had happened, I wouldn’t be able to realize some of the most important things in life: the reality of human feelings, expectations and contentment, fear and hopes, insecurity and trust. Without us making the choice to spend time together, I wouldn’t have learnt to go for it and venture into the darkest corners of the chaos we experienced deep inside our souls, when heads and hearts failed to communicate. Because of every single moment that passed away fast and furiously, I came to understand what it meant by trust and respect, judgment and assumption, misunderstanding and concealment, honesty and effort, disappointment and pain, empathy and love. And most importantly, because of every thing that had happened, I grabbed the opportunity to look inwards and came back to my ultimate life goal: Letting go 🙂

Thank you, sincerely!

So,

To all of the Warhawks who have crossed my path, whether or not you can find yourself somewhere in my words, thank you! With you all, life at ULM has been interesting, enriching, dramatic and meaningful.

Till next time!

(Photo credit to Ms Kim Smith)

Leave a comment